Disregard Everything I Say

I feel a little bit guilty. In https://shamanonramen.wordpress.com/2009/08/19/no-blizzard-doesnt-suck-at-enhance-you-do/, I spent quite a bit of time, words, and math showing how the Elemental t9 totem was better for Enhancement that the actual Enhancement one, and how I thought that was a good idea and intended by Blizzard. It seems I may have been wrong.

If you head over to the front page of mmo-champion, you’ll see this little tidbit of news:

Totem of Quaking Earth now gives 400 attack power for 18 sec each time you use your Lava Lash ability. (Up from 200 Attack Power)

Now, this makes sense. If you compare that totem with the death knight and paladin relics and understand itemization, you’d know that 200 Strength =/= 200 Attack Power, so the Totem of the Quaking Earth was not incredibly well itemized for it’s tier. 400 Attack Power makes a lot more sense for an iLevel 245 item.

(For some quick math, 400 AP that is up 100% of the time-with an assumed Trueshot aura/Unleashed Rage/Aboms might-is a static 440 EP.  Haste, on the other hand, shifts ep with each few points of haste you add on, so it’s nearly impossible to develop a static ep value for the entire 200 you’d get from Electrifying wind. It’s -possible- that you EP haste at like 2.7, which I saw on the shaman forums today, where Electrifying Wind might still be better. For the most part though, the 85%ish uptime and around 2.0 EPs will mean that Quaking Earth remains on top.)

I’m not annoyed about this change. I’m glad that Blizzard listened to Enhancement shaman who were annoyed by the lackluster totem. However, I’m not a fan of how it effects those of us who already spent our first 25 emblems of triumph on the elemental totem having to spend another 25 on the next totem. I don’t feel we should get reimbursed for our totem- giving Shaman 25 free Emblems of Triumph is unfair to other classes. I do feel that the best response would be to refresh the item sellback time on all totems, so that when we log in after 3.2.2 we have 2 hours played time to trade the totem in.

5 Comments

  1. This just proves … that Blizzard sucks a big fat one.

    • See, I’m not as positive about that. I mean, they did listen to a large number of people who wanted to see the Enhance totem brought up to par. I just think how they handle reparations for their slight mistake is something to be kept in mind. xD

      • On a side note, I figured I might get lucky (saw some people on the forums who had some luck with this) and see if I could petition to either get a refund of my totems or have them allow me to switch out to Quaking Earth.

        Was told a big fat no – not suprising. Next time, I’ll probably just wait to spend my emblems until I have enough to get more than one item. 🙂

  2. well that’s good to know. It was stupid in that it was less than half as powerful as the others which is an obvious goof up.

  3. @D-since I can’t reply to your post, apparently. xD: It looks like a lot of people are of the opinion to keep both totems, since Electrifying Wind is going to surpass Quaking Earth on some fights, and Quaking will take others. 😛


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

